Johnny Coppin albums and books    

latest news
tour dates
albums and books
play track samples
radio news
email newsletter

Information for event organisers
Contact info
Red Sky Records        

The Shakespeare Songs Songs and Carols for a West Country Christmas Album (1990)
Red Sky CD - RSKCD111 or cassette

» go to order form

"A real touch of class"
- English Dance and Song
"A captivating mixture of carols and new songs" - Oxford Times

An unusual collection of new and traditional songs and carols from the South West of England. Sponsored by the Bristol Evening Post and Western Daily Press. and first released in 1990. Includes the Cornish "Sans Day Carol", Gloucestershire Wassail", "The Campden Carol", Wiltshire Carol" and "My Dancing Day" as well as settings of Thomas Hardy's "The Oxen", Charles Causley's "Innocents' Song" and Leonard Clark's "Song for Loders" from Dorset.

Musicians include Phil Beer, Paul Burgess, John Broomhall (keyboards), Mick Dolan (guitars) and Trevor Foster (drums). Engineered by Mick Dolan. Produced by Johnny Coppin

1. Intro: Lord Of All This Revelling (1.16)
2. Gloucestershire Wassail (3.28)
3. Song For Loders (3.29)
4. My Dancing Day (1.58)
5. Sans Day Carol (3.01)
6. Come All You Worthy Christian Friends (3.12)
7. Sailor's Carol (1.38)
8. The Glastonbury Thorn (Theme) (0.44)
9. The Oxen (3.34)
10. Innocents' Song (4.31)
10. O Little Town Of Bethlehem (3.25)
11. Wiltshire Carol (2.23)
12. A Virgin Most Pure (3.02)
13. The Birth (3.25)
14. The Campden Carol (3.31)
15. The Flowering Of The Thorn (3.04)
16. The Glastonbury Thorn (Theme) (0.44)

« back to albums and books